menu

Institute of Health Sciences Education

Centre for Medical Education menu

Clinical Communication and Learning Skills Unit

Welcome to the Clinical and Communication Skills Unit

 

Clinical and Communication Skills Unit

The Unit supports clinical and communication skills education in healthcare settings and in skills centre laboratories using state of the art and evidence-based learning and assessment methods. To achieve this involves providing students and staff with access to a wide range of high quality learning activities and resources. The Unit also runs staff development courses in the use of simulation as a teaching method and has developed a bank of trained simulated patients.

Our goal is to prepare students for practice and ensure they graduate with the very best clinical and communication skills and are able to work collaboratively in healthcare teams to provide safe and effective care to patients now and in the future.

Barts and The London was one of the first UK schools to establish a Clinical Skills Centre and to introduce a skills-based qualifying examination. These innovations led to commendations from the GMC and the QAA. 

 

Academic Staff

Head of CCLSU Unit:

Professor Annie Cushing, Reader in Clinical Communication Skills
Tel: 020 7882 2089
a.m.cushing@qmul.ac.uk

 

Head of Clinical Skills: 

Dr Dason Evans, Senior Lecturer in Medical Education
Tel: 020 7882 2085
d.evans@qmul.ac.uk

 

Lead for Academic Support: 

Ms Adrienne Kirk, Senior Lecturer in Clinical Communication Skills
Tel: 020 7882 2087
adrienne.kirk@qmul.ac.uk

 

Ms Angela Rowlands, Senior Lecturer in Clinical Communication Skills
Tel: 020 7882 8928
a.rowlands@qmul.ac.uk

 

Dr Helen Bintley, Clinical Skills Lecturer
Tel: 020 7882 2067
h.bintley@qmul.ac.uk

 

Dr Nisha Ehamparanathan, Clinical Skills Lecturer
Tel: 0207 882 2086
n.ehamparanathan@qmul.ac.uk


Dr Devina Raval, Clinical Skills Lecturer
Tel: 0207 882 2086
d.raval@qmul.ac.uk

 

Dr Alex Bell, Clinical Teaching Fellow
Tel: 0207 882 2069
a.bell@qmul.ac.uk

 

Professional Staff

Miss Leonie Davidson, Phase & SSC Administrator
Tel: 020 7882 2094
l.y.davidson@qmul.ac.uk

 

Mr Besheer Abbaro, Temporary Unit Administrator
Tel: 020 7882 2095
b.abbaro@qmul.ac.uk

Return to top